Construction on the new Western Sydney Metro will begin next year after the NSW government confirmed the location of seven stations.

Metro stations will be built at Westmead, Parramatta, Sydney Olympic Park, North Strathfield, Burwood North, Five Dock and the Bays Precinct, NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian and Transport Minister Andrew Constance confirmed on Monday.

Work will begin next year at the Bays Precinct, near Rozelle, with the line expected to be open by 2030.

“Western Sydney Metro will more than double the existing rail capacity between Greater Parramatta and the Sydney CBD and slash travel times between Parramatta and the Sydney CBD to around 20 minutes,” Mr Constance said.

The state government is also fast-tracking the feasibility study into building a metro station at Pyrmont, while the location for the station in the CBD is yet to be decided.